Barrister's Ball Raises $10,000 for The Race Against Breast Cancer

An evening of lively auction bidding, dining, and dancing culminated in a generous $10,000 donation to the Race Against Breast Cancer in honor of Professor Amy Westbrook. Washburn Student Bar Association's annual black tie charity fundraiser, the Washburn University School of Law Barrister’s Ball, was held November, 9, 2013, at the Topeka Country Club. This student-led fundraiser exceeded all previous events with the most charitable dollars raised.  

On Monday, April 28, 2014, Tabitha Chapman, Barrister’s Ball Committee chair and president of the Washburn Student Bar Association, presented a check to Dawn Robertson, administrator with the Race Against Breast Cancer (click on photo below to see video of check presentation courtesy of WIBW 13 News).

Photograph: Barrister's Ball Check to Race Against Breast Cancer

This event was a collaborative effort among Washburn Law students, faculty, and staff who provided and won an assortment of creative auction packages.  Law student Taylor Concannon won “The Iron Chef Competition for 12 people with Professors Joe Mastrosimone and Foster vs.  Professors Judd and Boyack, with Chairs Rubenstein, Sourgens, Grant, and Martin.

 Photograph: Barrister's Ball Iron Chef Professor Mastrosimone   Photograph: Barrister's Ball Chocolate Fountain

Some of the other professor packages included “Professors Westbrook and Rubenstein Poker Night” won by Ben Busboom; “Professor Grant Murder Mystery for 8-12” won by Michaela Marine; and “Professor Pierce Spam for up to 10” won by Aaron Friess.

Washburn Law students also provided auction packages that included “Home-brewed beer of your choice and baked goods by Kayla Roehler” won by Dean Alaka; “Trivia night for students and professors with Calla Sprague, Jessica Gallagher, Nick Kenney, Allison Wood, Tabitha Chapman, Josh Conway, Lynne Lasester, and others” won by Professor Jeffrey Jackson; and “Eight hours of yard work and spring cleaning provided by Chris Staley, Jesse Haller, Michael Fowler, Nate Jiwanlal, Hank Driskell, Jorge De Hoyos, Chet Compton, and Steve Vetter “ won by Deans Jo Hunt and Jalen Lowry.

Photograph: Barrister's Ball Yard Work Group Photo 1     Photograph: Barrister's Ball Yard Work Group Photo 2  

Photograph: Barrister's Ball Yard Work         Photograph: Barrister's Ball Yard Work Small Group 2