Washburn Law mourns the passing of the following alumni whose deaths were reported to the school from July 1, 2015 through November 12, 2015.

John W. Newhart, '48, Saint Joseph, Mo., on August 31, 2015, at age 94

Paul K. Clayton, '51, Sun Lakes, Ariz., on April 21, 2015, at age 90

Albert P. Kovac, '51, Kansas City, Kan., on October 3, 2015, at age 89

Simon P. Roth, '51, Hays, Kan., on July 17, 2015, at age 88

James M. Caplinger, '53, Topeka, on June 28, 2015, at age 86

Phillip U. Leon, '58, Wichita, on August 17, 2015, at age 84

John B. Towner, '58, Pittsburg, Kan., on July 28, 2015, at age 84

Jorge Soto-Marrero, '60, Kissimmee, Fla., on February 17, 2015, at age 85 Wayne W. Grindol, '62, Jewell, Kan., on July 21, 2015, at age 92

Roger R. Viets, '63, Jackson, Wyo., on September 26, 2015, at age 78

William J. Birch, '64, Topeka, on June 27, 2015, at age 81

The Honorable Kay E. McFarland, '64, Topeka, on August 18, 2015, at age 80

Philip E. Winter, '70, Admire, Kan., on July 2, 2015, at age 71

Edna E. Hodges, '73, Grantville, Kan., on July 23, 2015, at age 77

Anthony J. Kotich, '73, Topeka, on October 20, 2015, at age 69 Leonard M. Robinson, '74, Eskridge, Kan., on August 22, 2015, at age 71

Ronald P. Roerig, '77, Emporia, Kan., on October 9, 2015, at age 67

The Honorable Micheal A. Ireland, '81, Holton, Kan., on August 29, 2015, at age 66

John L. Swarts, '84, Fort Scott, Kan., on March 23, 2015, at age 74

Lloyd D. Hull, '85, Topeka, on October 7, 2015, at age 66

Ellen M. Tracy, '92, Topeka, on October 2, 2015, at age 79

Jeffery P. Gleave, '93, Monroe, Utah, on October 19, 2015, at age 62



Remembering The Honorable Kay McFarland, '64

Former Kansas Supreme Court Justice **Kay McFarland**, '**64**, passed away on Aug. 18, 2015. She was 80. Justice McFarland was the Court's first female member and its only female chief justice. Prior to her appointment to the Supreme Court in 1977, she was the first woman elected as a Shawnee County District Court Judge. McFarland was named a Washburn University School of Law Alumni Fellow in 2006. In 2006, she received the Washburn Law Distinguished Alumni Award, followed by the Washburn Law Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007. In 2009, Washburn University conferred on her an honorary degree of doctor of law.