Washburn Law Students Receive KBF Scholarships

Washburn University School of Law students Valerie Desroches, Claire Hillman, Lisa Martin, and Travis Ternes are the recipients of the 2016 Kansas Bar Foundation (KBF) scholarships. They will be recognized at the KBA Court Appreciation Dinner on Feb. 11, 2016, in Topeka. The KBF is committed to the assistance of improving the legal system for all Kansans. One key method in accomplishing that objective is providing grants and scholarships to civil legal service programs, law-related educational programs, and law students. The KBA credits generous endowments from its members and firms for making these scholarships possible.

Valerie Desroches, J.D. Candidate, '17, received the Frank Norton Scholarship, available exclusively to Washburn Law students in their second or third year of study who are not receiving any other scholarship support. Desroches moved to Kansas from Ohio and is a self-proclaimed Kansan.

"I am overwhelmed with gratitude to the Kansas Bar Foundation for selecting me to receive the Frank Norton Scholarship," said Desroches. "Aside from the financial support, this award allows me the chance to continue pursuing my passion in the profession of law and impact the lives of children for the better, one rising star at a time."

Claire M. Hillman, J.D. Candidate, '17, was awarded the Hinkle Law Firm Student Scholarship, intended for a law student at the University of Kansas School of Law or Washburn Law who demonstrates a bona fide intention to practice law in Kansas. Because community service is extremely important to the Hinkle Law firm, recipients must also demonstrate a history of community involvement. Hillman is a Topeka native.

"I am humbled and honored to receive the Hinkle Law Firm Student Scholarship, and would like to thank the Kansas Bar Association for their generous and continued support of law students," said Hillman. "Thanks must also be extended to the Washburn University School of Law for providing me with such an excellent legal education."

Lisa L. Martin, J.D. Candidate, '17, was presented the Case, Moses, & Zimmerman P.A. Law Student Scholarship, which honors a second-year law student at a Kansas law school, Creighton University School of Law, or Oklahoma City University School of Law. Recipients must demonstrate a bona fide intention of practicing in the state of Kansas. Martin is a resident of Prairie Village, Kan.

“I would like to thank the benefactors of the Case, Moses & Zimmerman scholarship award," said Martin. "I would also like to extend a hearty thank you to the Kansas Bar Foundation and the faculty and staff of Washburn University School of Law. I am humbled to be selected for this award and promise to continue representing the Kansas legal profession with the utmost level of competence and sincerity.”

Travis J. Ternes, J.D. Candidate, '16, was the recipient of the Maxine S. Thompson Memorial Scholarship, which promotes the practice of law in the state of Kansas. Recipients must be a Kansas native; attend the University of Kansas Law School or Washburn Law; have completed no less than 60 hours towards a law degree; and plan to practice in a rural Kansas area, preferably western Kansas. Ternes is from Oxford, Kan.

"I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to the Kansas Bar Foundation for their continued support," said Ternes. "It is an honor to be selected for a scholarship."