Raymond Spring Award

In 2002 the Kansas Association for Justice (KsAJ), formerly Kansas Trial Lawyers Association, established an award in remembrance of Raymond Spring. This award is given to the Law Clinic intern who has demonstrated the highest commitment to providing legal services to clients in need.

The Raymond Spring Award is presented during the KsAJ's annual conference and Crown Center seminar each December in Kansas City. The recipient receives a plaque and monetary award.


Recipients of the Raymond Spring award are:

  • 2011 — Carol Longenecker Schmidt
  • 2010 — Kursten Phelps
  • 2009 — Moshe Yoel Malashock
  • 2008 — Timothy Woods
  • 2007 — Amy Coppola
  • 2006 — Dara Montclare
  • 2005 — Robert "Jerry" Shivley
  • 2004 — Eduardo Beckett
  • 2003 — Sharonda Friday
  • 2002 — Matt Wilson
Raymond Spring

Raymond Spring graduated from Washburn University School of Law in 1959 and worked in private practice for six years afterward. In 1965 he began teaching at Washburn and in 1970 he became the dean of the law school. He drafted the grant proposal and conducted negotiations with the Council on Legal Education for Professional Responsibility (CLEPR) which awarded Washburn University a $35,500 grant in 1969 to establish a legal clinic program.