Ungerman and Spring Awardees Named

Recipients of the Irvine E. Ungerman Award for Excellence in Clinical Practice and the Kansas Trial Lawyers Association’s Raymond Spring Award were announced at the Law Clinic Luncheon and Award Presentation in late November.

Michael Payton, 2017 JD Candidate, was awarded the Ungerman for the summer/fall semesters. This award is earned by an intern who provides highly competent representation to clients in a manner exemplifying the ideals of the legal profession, including problem solving, legal analysis and research, factual investigation, counseling, negotiation, trial skills, ability to recognize and resolve ethical dilemmas, and ability to work with others. The award was established to honor Washburn Law alumnus Irvine E. Ungerman, who practiced in Tulsa, Oklahoma and died in 1980. Payton was nominated by his supervising attorneys John J. Francis and Gillian Chadwick.

Sarah Balderas, 2018 JD Candidate, and Kristin Moorhead, 2017 JD Candidate, were each awarded the Ray Spring Award for 2017. This award is given to interns who demonstrate the highest commitment to providing legal services to clients in need. The award is named for Raymond Spring, ’59, a former faculty member and dean of Washburn Law. He drafted the grant proposal and conducted negotiations with the Council on Legal Education for Professional Responsibility (CLEPR) which established a legal clinic program at the law school in 1969. Balderas and Moorhead were nominated by their supervising attorney Gillian Chadwick.

Michael Payton with Gillian Chadwick and John Francis Photograph: Raymond Spring Award Recipients 2017
Sarah Balderas and Gillian Chadwick Kristin Moorhead and Gillian Chadwick