Kansas Uniform Bar Examination Information
For the Fee Schedule and the Kansas Petition for Admission to the Bar of the State of Kansas by Written Examination visit the Kansas Attorney Admissions website. The bar examination fee is $700.
- February exam
- October 1
- November 1 (late; $900 examination fee)
- July exam
- March 1
- April 1 (late; $900 examination fee)
Every applicant to the Kansas Bar must submit a properly completed fingerprint card. Fingerprint packets are available from the Kansas Supreme Court. The Professional Development Office (PDO) schedules one day each semester for the Kansas Bureau of Investigation to visit campus and take fingerprints. The PDO will have a limited number of fingerprint packets available for the clinic. The Office also has available a brochure that answers frequently asked questions about the Kansas bar application and the character and fitness investigation processes. PDO staff provide assistance to applicants throughout the application process.
The fee for applications filed under Rule 708, 709A, or 712 is $1250.
Uniform Bar Exam Subjects
The following subjects are tested on the Uniform Bar Exam (UBE). This information is provided for your convenience only.
- Business Associations (Agency and Partnership; Corporations and Limited Liability Companies)
- Civil Procedure
- Conflicts of Laws
- Constitutional Law
- Criminal Law and Procedure
- Family Law
- Real Property
- Trusts and Estates (Decedents' Estates; Trusts and Future Interests)
- Uniform Commercial Code (Secured Transactions)
The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI) visits Washburn Law in January (for July bar takers) and September (for February bar takers) so students preparing their bar examination applications can be fingerprinted.
Fingerprint packets are available from the Kansas Supreme Court, and a limited number of packets are available from the PDO for use in conjunction with the KBI Fingerprinting Clinic.
You will need to bring to the appointment the following:
- Fingerprint Card Waiver (signed in front of a notary; see list of law school notaries).
- Completed but NOT signed fingerprint card.
- $10 personal check or Money Order (made out to KBI; they will NOT accept cash).
- You must also bring a photo ID.
If you are not taking the bar exam in Kansas, please check with your bar examination state to determine appropriate fingerprinting procedures.