Residency Qualifications and Policy
The university charges two tuition rates for undergraduate, graduate, and law courses:
- A Kansas-resident rate for students who meet the university's residence requirements
- A nonresident rate for students who do not meet the university's residence requirements
The Office of Admissions will inform each applicant to the university of his or her residence status. No refund will be made if residence qualifications are met after the end of the fifth week.
Definition of Residence for Tuition Purposes
Residence means a person’s place of habitation, to which whenever he or she is absent, he or she has the intention of returning. A person shall not be considered a resident of Kansas unless he or she is in continuous residence and intends to make Kansas a permanent home, not only while in attendance at the university, but indefinitely thereafter as well.
Determination of Residence Status
Before students can be considered residents for tuition purposes, they must prove they have been legal residents or have continuously resided in Kansas for at least six months immediately prior to registration. Students cannot be residents unless they qualify as Kansas residents for whom the university can receive state aid. No single factor can indicate an intent to maintain residence in a state other than Kansas, but the following factors have probative value in support of a claim for resident classification:
- Continuous presence in Kansas during periods when not enrolled as a student
- Employment in Kansas
- Payment of Kansas state income taxes
- Reliance on Kansas sources for financial support
- Acceptance of an offer of permanent employment in Kansas
- Ownership of a home in Kansas
- Registration for voting in Kansas
- Employment in any position not normally filled by a student
- Lease of living quarters in Kansas
- Vehicle registration in Kansas
- Acquisition of Kansas driver's license
- Payment of Kansas personal property taxes
The following people are classified as nonresidents for tuition purposes:
- Adults who have not been Kansas residents for six months prior to enrollment for any term
- Minors whose parents have not been Kansas residents for six months prior to enrollment for any term
- Students who the state has determined are nonresidents for tuition purposes
If the university classifies a student as a resident and subsequently reverses the classification, the university will bill the student for the difference between the nonresident and resident rates for all applicable semesters, except in cases of documented university error. Voting, paying personal property taxes, registering a vehicle, or securing a driver’s license in another state may be considered sufficient evidence to show non-residence.
Residence of People Under 18 Years of Age.
Generally, the residence of a person under 18 years of age is determined by the residence of his or her parents. If both parents are dead, or if the parents are divorced or legally separated, residence shall be determined by the residence of the person to whom the court has granted custody or whom the court has designated as guardian. Adoptive parents are considered to occupy the same position as natural parents for the purpose of determining the residence of a legally adopted person who is under 18 years of age. In other situations, the residence of parents or other people providing the preponderance of support will determine residency. A legally emancipated person under 18 years of age will be considered an adult for residence purposes.
Equal Treatment of Men and Women.
In the application of these regulations, men and women shall be treated the same.
Residence of Married People
The residence of married people shall be determined separately for each spouse.
The Board of Regents authorizes people stationed in Kansas pursuant to active military orders, their spouses, and their dependents to pay an amount equal to resident tuition. People who are eligible for resident tuition rates under this policy must provide the University with documentation verifying their military status and spouse/dependent status, if applicable, at the time of enrollment.
Responsibility and Burden of Proof of Student for Resident Determination
The student bears the responsibility of enrolling according to the proper residence classification for tuition purposes. Newly admitted students who question their residence classification under these regulations must raise the question with the Office of Admissions, and current students must raise the question with the Registrar’s Office. The student bears the burden of providing clear and convincing proof of residency. Willful misstatement of any facts to influence a residency status decision is cause for dismissal from the university and subjects the student to proper charges for previous semesters.
Procedure for Residency Determination
Students are classified as residents or nonresidents according to information they provide prior to registration. A Residency Determination Questionnaire, available through the Registrar’s Office or Office of Admissions, may be completed by any new or returning student who wishes to clarify his or her residency status. The questionnaire must be completed and returned for review at least ten days prior to registration.
Students should question their residence statuses prior to registration to avoid incorrect tuition and fee charges. However, students are entitled to an appeal if they file a Resident Status Appeal Form with the Registrar’s Office within 30 days from the day of registration. The appeal process is also available to students classified as residents at the time of enrollment and subsequently reclassified as nonresidents, provided they file the Resident Status Appeal Form within 30 days of notice of reclassification. Upon receipt of the Resident Status Appeal Form, the Office of Admissions/Registrar’s Office will reverse its classification or explain to the student why the classification cannot be reversed. If the student remains unsatisfied with the classification, the Office of Admissions/Registrar’s Office will refer the matter to the Residency Committee. If the student fails to file an appeal and supporting documents within the designated timeframe, the Office of Admissions or Registrar’s Office’s determination of his or her residency will stand.
The Residence Committee will hear appeals concerning students' residency statuses. The committee shall comprise the Vice President for Administration, the Vice President for Academic Affairs, and the Dean of Students. The committee's decisions shall not be subject to further review by any officer or board of the university.
Where applicable, the following people will pay resident fees during the designated timeframe:/p>
- People who are full-time employees of a state educational institution
- People who are in active military service
- People who are domiciliary residents of the state, who were in active military service prior to becoming domiciliary residents of the state, who were present in the state for a period of not less than two years during their tenure in active military service, whose domiciliary residence was established in the state within 30 days of discharge or retirement from active military service under honorable conditions, but whose domiciliary residence was not established at least six months prior to the first day of enrollment for the semester in which they are enrolling
- People who are not domiciliary residents of Kansas, who have graduated from a Kansas high school within 6 months of enrollment, who are domiciliary residents of Kansas at the time of their high school graduation or within 12 months prior to their high school graduation, and who are eligible for admission to the university
- People who are domiciliary residents of Kansas, who are employed on a full-time basis and whose employment requires at least 1,500 hours of work per year, whose domiciliary residence was not established at least six months prior to the first day of enrollment for the semester in which they are enrolling
- People who are residents of Missouri
- People who are not domiciliary residents of Kansas but are the dependent children (legal children, stepchildren, or wards) of a graduate of Washburn University. For the purposes of this policy, a graduate is any person who has earned an associate, bachelor, master, or juris doctor degree at Washburn University
The exemption from paying nonresident rates granted in paragraphs 3-7 shall be applicable only for the first six months the person is residing in the state of Kansas. Thereafter, s/he hall be eligible for resident tuition rates only if s/he has established domiciliary residence in Kansas and provide indicia of residency in Kansas.
Source: Washburn University website (as viewed 5/31/2013).