## SUPREME HONOR





Washburn Law Alumni Admitted to the Bar of the U.S. Supreme Court

## Washburn Law alumni admitted to the bar of the United States Supreme Court on May 24, 2010:

Daryl V. Craft, '77, Topeka, Kan. Michael H. Haas, '69, Hoxie, Kan. Marilyn Patricia Hays, '87, Ormond Beach, Fla. Gary L. Jordan, '68, Ottawa, Kan. Joe Allen Lang, '77, Wichita, Kan. Mary Koziacki Mattivi, '97, Annandale, Va. Rick Meier, '87, Emporia, Kan. David H. Moses, '79, Wichita, Kan. Alec Nguyen, '01, Wichita, Kan. K. Kirk Nystrom, '79, Topeka, Kan. Daniel L. Parker, '03, Kansas City, Kan. Richard D. Ross, '75, Topeka, Kan. David M. Schauner, '76, Topeka, Kan. L. Michael Schwartz, '77, Overland Park, Kan. Todd Thompson, '01, Leavenworth, Kan. \* Jeffrey A. Wells, '02, Fort Morgan, Colo.

(\* sworn-in by written motion)

Photo on previous page, left to right: Alec Nguyen, L. Michael Schwartz, Gary L. Jordan, Michael H. Haas, Dean Thomas J. Romig, David M. Schauner, Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Todd Thompson, Justice Antonin Scalia, Rick Meier, Marilyn Patricia Hays, David H. Moses, Richard Ross, Joe Allen Lang, Kirk K. Nystrom, Daryl V. Craft, Mary Koziacki Mattivi, and Daniel L. Parker.

Cover photo, front row, left to right: Alec Nguyen, Kathleen Jordan, Gary L. Jordan, Pamela Romig, Dean Thomas J. Romig, David M. Schauner, Cheryl Hewitt, Cheryl Brown Henderson, Don Cameron, Anthony James Rauseo, and Marilyn Patricia Hays.

Second row: Daryl V. Craft, Cindy Craft, Wes Wilklow, Carolyn Wilklow, Michael H. Haas, Margery Haas, Aaron Moses, David H. Moses, Richard Ross, Matt Cavanaugh, and Steve Cavanaugh.

Third row: Joel Lauer, Tony Mattivi, Mary Koziacki Mattivi, Stacy Schwartz, Beth Schwartz, L. Michael Schwartz, Steve Pennington, Todd Thompson, Michael Swink, Kendra Parker, and Daniel L. Parker.

Back row: Martin Ahrens, Carolyn Ahrens, Steve Gibb, Carla Gibb, Dennis Kirk, Kirk K. Nystrom, Karen Nystrom, Carolyn Barnes, Linda Meier, Rick Meier, Teresa Lang, and Joe Allen Lang.





Anthony James Rauseo and Patricia Hays, '87



Richard D. Ross, '75



Michael, '77, Beth, and Stacy Schwartz



"It is an honor to be affiliated with the highest court in the country and to see the Supreme Court Justices in person. To be present while the Court issued decisions in seven cases, announcing the results from the bench, was an unexpected highlight."

- Richard D. Ross, '75



Mary, '97, and Tony, '94, Mattivi



Rick, '87, and Linda Meier



Kirk, '79, and Karen Nystrom



Todd Thompson, '01, and Alec Nguyen, '01



Clarice Peters, '82



Wes and Carolyn Wilklow, Margery and Michael, '69, Haas



David, '79, and Aaron Moses



David Schauner, '76, and Cheryl Hewitt



Kent Foerster, '89, and Beth Regier Foerster, '84



Joe, '77, and Teresa Lang



Daryl, '77, and Cindy Craft, Carla and Steve Gibb



Gary, '68, and Kathleen Jordan

ifteen Washburn University School of Law alumni were admitted to the bar of the United States Supreme Court in a swearing-in ceremony.

Washburn Law's fourth biennial United States Supreme Court admissions ceremony was held Monday, May 24, 2010, in Washington, D.C. The alumni were from Kansas, Florida, and Virginia, with graduation years from 1968 to 2003.

In addition to the Monday events, more than 60 gathered for a welcome reception on Sunday evening for the participants, their families, and D.C. metro-area alumni at the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill.

Hosting the alumni group in Washington, D.C. were Thomas Romig, dean of Washburn University School of Law; Carolyn Barnes, director of alumni services; Martin Ahrens and Joel Lauer, Washburn University Foundation; and Stephen Cavanaugh, '80, Topeka, past president of the Washburn University School of Law Alumni Association. The group was honored to have Supreme Court Justices Antonin Scalia and Ruth Bader Ginsburg join the group for photos and to congratulate our Washburn Law alumni.

To qualify for admission to the bar of the United States Supreme Court, an applicant must have been admitted to practice in the highest court of a state, commonwealth, territory or possession, or the District of Columbia for a period of at least three years immediately before the date of application; must not have been the subject of any adverse disciplinary action pronounced or in effect during that three-year period; and must appear to the Court to be of good moral and professional character.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, the group attended a luncheon at Charlie Palmer Steak with guest speaker Jim Slattery, '75, of McLean, Va., and Topeka. After the luncheon, participants toured the U.S. Capitol and met with Kansas Congressman Dennis Moore, '70, of Lenexa, Kan.



"Witnessing the Washburn Law alumni being swornin by the United States Supreme Court was not simply an awe-inspiring experience, it was a personal pilgrimage for those involved in Brown v. Board of Education who were unable travel to Washington, D.C., in 1954, to watch the NAACP attorneys argue before the high court on their behalf. This was a tangible reminder of the role that the U.S. Supreme Court plays in safeguarding our constitutional rights."

- Cheryl Brown Henderson



"I waited 33 years to become a member of the bar of the U.S. Supreme Court, and I am glad I chose to participate in the Washburn alumni program. It was a perfect day, thanks to all of your hard work. My only regret is that I can't do it again. I have all of you to thank for the warm memories of the swearing-in that my family and I will carry with us always. We will always be grateful."

- L. Michael Schwartz, '77

## Guests:



Cheryl Brown Henderson, Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and Dean Thomas Romig



Keith, '80, and Jennifer Roberts



Dennis Kirk, '75



Jim Slattery, '75



Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia



Matt Cavanaugh, Tom Webb, third-year law student, and Steve Cavanaugh, '80



Beth and Stephen, '02, Martino



Rep. Dennis Moore, '70

"It was a marvelous trip and very well choreographed. Thank you for making it possible and for making it a memorable experience." - Daryl V. Craft, '77