

Washburn University School of Law graduated 151 students during its 101St commencement ceremony, May 12, 2007. Of the 151, students 39 received a Certificate of Concentration in one of the following areas: Advocacy, Business and Transactional Law, Estate Planning, Family Law, Natural Resources Law, Tax Law or Transactional Law.



Michael C. Manning '77, was the commencement speaker and received an Honorary Doctor of Law degree. Manning received his bachelor's degree from Emporia State University in 1971 and his juris doctor, *cum laude*, from Washburn University School of Law in 1977. He was editor-in-chief of the *Washburn Law Journal*. Manning is managing partner in the Phoenix office of Stinson Morrison

Hecker LLP, where his areas of practice are commercial, professional liability, bankruptcy and international commercial relationships litigation.

Manning is noteworthy for his representation in ground breaking cases. In 1984, the FDIC chose Manning to head its litigation against New York, mob-related money broker, Mario Renda. Manning's successful multi-state civil and criminal prosecutions ultimately resulted in Renda's conviction and incarceration and are chronicled in the book, *Inside Job*. In 1989, he acted as lead counsel in the Lincoln Savings/Charles Keating cases. At the time it was the largest commercial litigation in U.S. history, involving more than 51,000 pages of documents and more than 600 depositions. That case is detailed in the book, *Trust Me*.

Manning has spoken on numerous occasions to students, faculty, and alumni at the law school regarding the effective use of technology in the courtroom. He received the Washburn University Alumni Fellow Award for the School of Law in 2002, and serves on the advisory board for the Center for Excellence in Advocacy at Washburn Law. In 1994, Manning was recognized by the *National Law Journal* in its triennial selection of the "100 Most Influential Lawyers in America." Manning is a board member and past president of the FBI Citizens Academy



and a significant fundraiser for the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Central and Southern Arizona. He serves as chairman of the advisory board of LIFE TEEN, Inc., a Phoenix-based charity which, through spiritual development, helps teens cope with the special challenges they face.

Manning addressed the graduates, "You must, in your practice, constantly focus your attention on ethical considerations. Some thing you are able to give away in your early years as a lawyer, but you will never be able to buy back, is your integrity." He continued, "In your practice, you must constantly focus on ethical considerations which you must hope and you should expect, to become second nature to you as you gain practice experience."

He encouraged graduates to challenge themselves. "You will be presented with new professional pathways that will create anxiety and moments of self doubt. When your practice puts you at that crossroads of the comfortable and familiar pathway to one side, and the daunting challenge or an unknown pathway on the other side, be bold. Push yourself toward that challenge. It is better to fail at a challenge and a cause worth taking, than to succeed in running back and forth over your own tread marks," stated Manning.

"Don't ever be wilted by those who would underestimate you. You are from this great law school, therefore, you come from top stock. In years to come you too will feel as I do about this great law school. Take the great blessing of your Washburn Law degree and couple it with hard work in our profession and pursue the pathway that challenges you and sometimes daunts you. Do not shy away from those that tell you they are better than you. Challenge yourself, push yourself and do honor to our noble profession."

During the ceremony, the Class of 2007 presented the William O. Douglas Outstanding Professor of the Year Award to Professor David Pierce, and the Adjunct Professor of the Year Award to C. William "Bill" Ossmann '75.

Steve Cooper '73, president of the Washburn University School of Law Alumni Association Board of Governors, recognized several graduating students whose parents are also Washburn Law alums. Those recognized were: William Deer, son of Montie Deer class of 1972; Thomas Hammond, son of Thomas E. Hammond class of 1979; Andrew W. Hartnett, son of Andrew Stone Hartnett class of 1966; Richard Hickey, son of Allen Hickey class of 1962; Robert "Jake" Johnson, son of John Johnson class of 1973; Pam Putnam, daughter of Larry Putnam class of 1976; Blake Reitz, daughter of Sid Reitz class of 1976; and Michael Shultz, son of John "Craig" Shultz class of 1978.



Graduation

Class of 2007 Donor Honor Roll

The Class of 2007 presented a class gift of \$4,148 to the School of Law. The gift will go toward a needbased scholarship to an incoming first-year student. The following students and parents from the Class of 2007 contributed to the class gift fund. Washburn University School of Law would like to thank all donors for their generous gift and commitment to the law school.

Students

Latina M. Alston*

Robin R. Anderson

Zach Chaffee-McClure

Carroll W. Cunningham

Mark A. Dupree*

Shelby J. Grau

Jay R. Hall

Richard A. Hickey

Brett A. Jarmer

Judy J. Jewsome*

Kelly J. Kauffman*

Daniel W. Keenan*

Kristen C. Kellems

Yvonne N. Obiuku

Atim M. Otii

Lindsey D. Patmon

Adam C. Peer

Karen M. Quintelier

Erin M. Riffey*

Melissa M. Schoen*

Laura M. Schoenberger

Iordan O. Schwartz

Laura L. Steel

Richard C. Stevens

Jennifer M. Strauss

Matthew B. Todd

Claudia J. Weaver*

Peter M. Wells

Mike J. Wyatt

* indicates GOLD Club Member

Parents in Honor of

Mr. and Mrs. Edward Ambrose in honor of Alison E. Ambrose

Mr. and Mrs. Gayle Anderson in honor of Robin R. Anderson

Mr. and Mrs. Clark Ballard in honor of Matthew C. Ballard

Mr. and Mrs. Belohlavek in honor of George B. Belohlavek

Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Bristow in honor of Lauren M. Bristow

Mr. and Mrs. William H. Burnett in honor of William J. Burnett

Mr. and Mrs. Myron Dunavan in honor of Matthew A. Dunavan

Ms. Rose Hopkins in honor of Kana Lydick

Mr. and Mrs. Michael Lauer in honor of Dana L. Lauer

Mr. and Mrs. Terry Young in honor of Kerri L. Lonard

Mr. and Mrs. Mike McGinnis in honor of Marshall A. McGinnis

Mr. Bill McMurray in honor of Molly E. McMurray

Mr. and Mrs. David Murfin in honor of Melissa M. Mangan

Ms. Ruth Ohm in honor of Robert C. O'Loughlin

Mr. and Mrs. Irvin Parmenter in honor of Andrew J. Parmenter

Mr. and Mrs. Lenny Patmon in honor of Lindsey D. Patmon

Mr. and Mrs. Brian Poland in honor of Bryn A. Poland

Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Quintelier in honor of Karen N. Quintelier

Mr. Leroy Reid and Ms. Kathryn McIlrath in honor of Sarah A. Reed

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Riffey in honor of Erin M. Riffey

Mr. and Mrs. John Rigdon in honor of Matthew F. Rigdon

Mr. Allan Schwartz in honor of Jordan O. Schwartz

Mr. and Mrs. Craig Shultz in honor of Michael J. Shultz

Mr. and Mrs. Warren Sweat in honor of Jacob G. Sweat

Mr. Douglas Timm in honor of Douglas R. Timm, Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Rick Van Dyk in honor of Dustin L. Van Dyk

Mr. and Mrs. Hank Worsley in honor of Melanie K. Worsley

Mr. and Mrs. Wendell Wurst in honor of Wyatt A. Wurst









President Jerry Farley, Michael C. Manning '77 and Ben Blair '65



