United States Supreme Court Swearing In

















United States Supreme Court Swearing In

Forty-nine Washburn University School of Law alumni from thirteen states participated in the first Washburn Law Supreme Court Swearing In, on Monday, November 15, 2004. It was a special day for those being sworn in. Participation slots were quickly filled on a first come, first served basis. After announcing the event, all fifty slots were filled in only three weeks, creating a waiting list of those hoping to still get a chance to participate.

Chief Justice William Rehnquist was absent from the court due to his ongoing battle with cancer and Justice Antonin Scalia was absent as well. Justice Sandra Day O'Connor presided over the ceremony, only the second time in history a woman has done so, making the ceremony even more meaningful for those in attendance.

After the Swearing-In ceremony, Justice O'Connor honored us by visiting the Washburn Law conference room to briefly visit with Washburn Law alumni and their guests.

Several events surrounded the U.S. Supreme Court Swearing In. On Sunday evening, November 14, a reception was held for those being sworn in and their guests. Area Washington DC alumni were also invited to join the reception held at the Bank of America Building on the Penthouse level, overlooking DC. After the Swearing In on Monday, a lunch was held for participants and their guests at the historic Willard Hotel. The weekend was spectacular for attendees and their guests, many of whom spent the weekend in DC taking time to sight-see and enjoy a long weekend.

The next Supreme Court Swearing In for Washburn Law alumni is scheduled in June 2006.



Justice Sandra Day O'Connor







Alumni admitted to the United States Supreme Court during the first Washburn University School of Law Swearing In were:

Lillian Apodaca '85, Albuquerque, NM; Stephen W. Atha '74, Topeka, KS; Robert L. Baer '77, Topeka, KS; Daniel B. Bailey '87, Gillette, WY; Karen Barry West '00, Wichita, KS; Troy A Berberick '00, Topeka, KS; Gary Bishop '86, Springfield, MO; Lara Blake Bors '01, Garden City, KS; Kim Boyd Dombrowski '80, Dallas, TX; Mary Brown McCuskey '75, Madison, IN; Robert D. Campbell '95, Atchison, KS; William Carter '01, Hayti, MO; James Chipman '94, Columbia, MO; William M. Cobb '65, Wichita, KS; Bruce R. Cohen '74, Estes Park, CO; Stacy L. Cooper '97, Chicago, IL; Jack R. Crumpacker '85, Springfield, VA; Jill Crumpacker '94, Alexandria, VA; Stephen Durrell '95, Topeka, KS; Linda D. Henry Elrod '72, Topeka, KS; Allison Herr '90, Las Vegas, NV; J. David Farris '65, Atchison, KS; Michael Foust '72, Goodland, KS; Byron Hammond '94, Denver, CO; Dan Hejtmanek '76, Topeka, KS; Heather J. Helvie '94, Larned, KS; Robert A. Holubec '99, Wichita, KS; P. Bernard Irvine '93, Manhattan, KS; Lisa Janati '82, Topeka, KS; David S. Langston '72, Wichita, KS; The Honorable Karen Langston '75, Wichita, KS; Susan Loy '99, Wichita, KS; Charlie Manh '88, Huntington Beach, CA; Mark Marion '99, Bel Aire, KS; Mark Meinhardt '01, Shawnee Mission, KS; Edgar Miner '51, Concord, NH; Allen P. Mitchem '47, Denver, CO; Mary Moore Johnson '96, Cape Girardeau, MO; Clarice Peters '82, Fairfax, VA; Oscar "Pete" Peterson, Jr. '72, Shawnee, KS; Dawn L. Reid '93, Silver Spring, MD; Deborah Reisdorph '92, Garden Grove, CA; Michael W. Ryan '74, Clay Center, KS; David Stephanides '92, Lisle, IL; Ray Sutton '66, Kansas City, MO; Krissy Thornbrugh '96, Chester, VA; Jon Thornbrugh '95, Chester, VA; Thomas Wilder '81, Silver Spring, MD; Warren Wood '74, Olathe, KS



Willard Hotel, Washington DC

Luncheon for alumni and guests at the U.S. Supreme Court Swearing In

